Home > Networking > DNS Server Recommendations

DNS Server Recommendations

Which DNS server is the best for me? I think about this all the time. I have two Internet connections both comes with their own DNS servers but I am still looking for the best possible DNS server for me. Why is this?

The primary duty of a DNS server is to convert the domain names (eg: yahoo.com) to its IP address. So you need to use the best DNS server that you can use. So that the DNS lookup can be quick. This will definitely improve the browsing speed especially if you are dealing with hundreds of websites a day.

Two best DNS servers I normally recommend are:

Google
OpenDNS

The IP address of Google DNS servers are 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4

The IP adress of OpenDNS DNS servers are 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220

You can use Google and OpenDNS servers alternatively.

You may find some other resource too but these are the most consistent DNS server I’ve used until now

Categories: Networking
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment